Welcome to Morgan County Government

It's Your County

Morgan County is a county located in the U.S. state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 68,894. The county seat is Martinsville. Morgan is one of seven counties contiguous to Marion County, and is located Southwest of Marion County and Indianapolis The county is divided into 14 townships. There are two larger urban areas, Martinsville, the county seat in the central part of the county and Mooresville in the north. Morgan County was formed in 1822. It was named for Gen. Daniel Morgan, the "Old Waggoner," who defeated the British at the Battle of Cowpens in the Revolutionary War. This was one of the turning points in the Revolutionary War in the Southern states and led to an eventual victory with the surrender of the British Army at the Siege of Yorktown in Virginia. Click here for brief history of the county.


Here are our Demographics: